My Sailboat of Dusky Blue

Reaching the grassy hill peak, I gazed out over falling twilight.  The golden hour was just fading over the crest of distant mountains.  Before me lay a deep valley of shadowed golden summer grass dotted with cornflower blue.  Further I could see a lazy blue river slowly twisting away around a rugged purple mountain.  Above me, clouds lay upon one another, still or softly blowing.  All colors of God, there in the setting sun.  Deep purples, blues, lavender, pale blue, peach, palest yellows, and sherbet pinks.  I climbed down a small ways, sat down and rest my head against the hill slope behind me.  My restful gaze followed sails of pink, swallowed by lavender boats that drifted upon yellowing sea.  My body completely relaxed, and I fell to not knowing my person there.  I was one with those sailboats in the sky.  I sailed far into the West.  I directed my sailboat up, higher into the sky, and flew swiftly over melting purples and darker indigo.  Looking down, the river seemed a small snake finding shelter amongst trees.  My heart filled to bursting, as I sailed into night sky and became one with the stars.

Painting by Patty Baker, found in images online. “Hudson River”

Writing inspired by “Come Back to Us”, 1917 movie soundtrack

Leave a comment